Helpful Links


  County Government

Cities in Nelson County include: Aneta, Lakota, McVille, Michigan, Pekin, Petersburg and Tolna.  There are also several Town Sites and Villages in the County including:  Dahlen, Kloten, Mapes, and Whitman.  These communities were formed when the Burlington Northern and Sioux Railroads became established in the County.  Lakota is the Official County Seat of Nelson County.

  School District

The Dakota Prairie Community educates and empowers lifelong learners through rigor, responsibility, respect and relationships.


K-6th grade building is located in McVille ND

7-12th grade building is located in Petersburg ND